Debug Mode Notice

Discussions and requests related to new CMSimple features, plugins, templates etc. and how to develop.
Please don't ask for support at this forums!
cmb
Posts: 11576
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:04 am
Location: Mü-Sa, RLP, DE
Contact:

Debug Mode Notice

Postby cmb » Thu May 01, 2014 8:33 pm

Hello Community,

Albert had reported issues regarding the debug mode notice in a German thread a while ago. Now I've stumbled over a similar (the same?) issue: even if the file that activates the debug mode was not there, the debug mode notice was shown. After some debugging I found the problem: in a plugin the error_reporting had been explicitely turned on.

Anyway, the question arises, whether the debug mode notice should be shown in such cases. Simply setting error_reporting might not even display the errors on screen (depending on the value of display_errors), and at least any errors/warnings/notices will not go through XH_debug(), so it seems somewhat reasonable to show the debug mode notice only, when XH's debug mode is enabled. OTOH that brings up the issue how to deal with extensions, that call error_reporting(0).

I tend to leave the handling of the debug mode notice as it currently is, and to advise extension writers and users doing customizations to avoid fiddling with error_reporting and display_errors, and to use XH's debug mode instead. If you agree, that should be added to the "golden rule".

Christoph
Christoph M. Becker –Plugins for CMSimple_XH, but not for CMSimple 4+

manu
Posts: 610
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:05 pm
Location: St. Gallen - Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Debug Mode Notice

Postby manu » Fri May 02, 2014 6:29 am

+1


Return to “Open Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest