How To Add A New Font To Editors

About the template and stylesheet - and changing the menu
prenticemarie

How To Add A New Font To Editors

Post by prenticemarie » Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:53 pm

Hi,
I am relatively new to CMSimple so I hope this question is in the correct section ...
I am developing my site using the "Blacker" template and I have been asked to use the "Segoe Script" Font for the text.
I have downloaded the font and I can use it in Gimp2.6, so my question is ....
How do I load it for use in CMSimple, using say "ckeditor" or "openwysiwig" ?
Where are the Fonts stored in CMSimple ?
I look forward to some help here please.

cmb

Re: How To Add A New Font To Editors

Post by cmb » Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:15 pm

Hi prenticemarie,

well, fonts used on the web have a special requirement: they have to be installed on the visitor's browser! So, if you're using an uncommon font (and AFAIK "Segoe Script" is unusual) to display text, the browser of the visitor falls back to a default font (typically "Times New Roman"), if the font is not installed on the computer the browser is running on. IOW: of course you can choose any font you like, but be aware that most visitors of the site will see a different font. This is the reason, why CSS allows the specification of web safe font combinations.

So, if you really want to display an unusual font, you have to do it with the help of JS. See e.g. http://cufon.shoqolate.com/generate/.

How to use this font: it's not totally clear to me, if you really want to add the font to an editor. It's probably enough, if you change the default font of the template. Unfortunately I don't know the "Blacker" template. But somewhere in templates/blacker/stylesheet.css you will probably find the CSS that chooses the font for the content section. There you can change this to your prefered font.

To give more specific help, you should post a link to your site, or, if it's not online yet, the link where you got the "Blacker" template from.

Christoph