image/banner and link in menu

About the template and stylesheet - and changing the menu
Post Reply
shazam
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Galicia - Spain

image/banner and link in menu

Post by shazam » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:28 am

Hello!!

Sorry about my English, i'm from Spain an don't understand very good.

I look for insert an image/banner with a link in the menu, but don't see nothing about this, i think the posibilitie to change the stylesheets.css, but not understand this much more...

What is the best way to make this, changing code or there is a plugin...?

Thanks a lot!!!

Tata
Posts: 3586
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Tata » Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:06 am

Automatically this is not be possible. CMSimple uses text labels <h1>My Page</h1>...2...3 for generating a menu. There are mostly ignored any other objects (except of styling). These may even destroy the functionality of the page.
There would be a way:
1. Insert the image/banner above/below your toc()
2. Write a page whis has to be opened by this image/banner (ex. My Page 1, My Page 2 etc.)
3. Save your images/banners in [./templates/your_template/images]
4. add this code into your template:

Code: Select all

<div><?php echo toc();?></div>
<div>
<a href="http://www.your_website.es/index.php?My_Page_1" />
<img src="<?php echo $pth['folder']['templateimages'];?>your_image_1.jpg">
</a>
</div>
<div>
<a href="http://www.your_website.es/index.php?My_Page_2" />
<img src="<img src="<?php echo $pth['folder']['templateimages'];?>your_image_2.jpg">
</a>
</div>
...
etc.
This may work. But you will need to make the same for any page that has to be called by some image from the menu.
CMSimple.sk
It's no shame to ask for an answer if all efforts failed.
But it's awful to ask without any effort to find the answer yourself.

shazam
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Galicia - Spain

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by shazam » Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:23 pm

Thank You very much, i only want to put banners in webs, also is possible to put this banners at the right of the page or in upper side.
I see cmsimple templates with 3 columns, but i not see the way to change the 3ª column.
I think this is the only way to put banners always visible's in web.

Thanks!

Tata
Posts: 3586
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Tata » Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:03 pm

Well, then it was a misunderstanding. I thought you wanted to replace some labels in your menu.
But if I understand you correctly now, you want a simple banner on your website (on top or on the right).
If you want to use the banner as a link:
to another external webpage, use:
<a href="http://www.another_webpage.es" target="_blank"><img src="<?php echo $pth['folder']['templateimages'];?>your_banner.jpg"></a> - the banner image must be saved in templates/your_template/images/your_banner.jpg
to another internal webpage, use:
<a href="./?Another_Internal_Webpage"><img src="<?php echo $pth['folder']['templateimages'];?>your_banner.jpg"></a> - the banner image must be saved in templates/your_template/images/your_banner.jpg

1. Download some of templates available for free (you can find links in this forum)
2. Study how they are made - this is the best school to you.
3. Study - if you have not yet - what are the HTML basics - you can find many tutorials on internet
4. Read carefully CMSimple Manuals - have you ever read this?
http://www.cmsimple.dk/es/?Ayuda:Cambia ... mplate.htm
CMSimple.sk
It's no shame to ask for an answer if all efforts failed.
But it's awful to ask without any effort to find the answer yourself.

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Holger » Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:35 pm

... or put it in a newsbox ;)

WBR

Holger

shazam
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:10 am
Location: Galicia - Spain

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by shazam » Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:46 am

Tata wrote: 1. Download some of templates available for free (you can find links in this forum)
2. Study how they are made - this is the best school to you.
3. Study - if you have not yet - what are the HTML basics - you can find many tutorials on internet
4. Read carefully CMSimple Manuals - have you ever read this?
http://www.cmsimple.dk/es/?Ayuda:Cambia ... mplate.htm
Thank you Tata! i read this days and practice much more, i put the graphics with links in the left menu, under the date, they work ok!

I have another question about, is possible to modify language in "November 19. 2008 09:21:45", only this line, i want to change NOVEMBER an put in another language, i think this date is take from server...
I'm looking and editing all html but don't see the text "january, february...etc..."
I see this line in template editor: <?php include("./jax_calendar/modules/calendar.inc.php"); ?>
this line is for server as i think?
Thank you very much, this forum is a big help for me!!

Till
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:20 am
Location: Germany: Bremen
Contact:

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Till » Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:10 am

shazam wrote:I have another question about, is possible to modify language in "November 19. 2008 09:21:45", only this line, i want to change NOVEMBER an put in another language, i think this date is take from server...
There is an explanation on the old forum at http://www.cmsimple.dk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1871
I am sorry but it is in German. However, you may be able to use the code.

Till

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Holger » Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:33 am

Till wrote:
shazam wrote:I have another question about, is possible to modify language in "November 19. 2008 09:21:45", only this line, i want to change NOVEMBER an put in another language, i think this date is take from server...
There is an explanation on the old forum at http://www.cmsimple.dk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1871
I am sorry but it is in German. However, you may be able to use the code.

Till
And here's a little Plugin for this job - without messing around with core files:
http://cmsimpleforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=100

Holger

Till
Posts: 337
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:20 am
Location: Germany: Bremen
Contact:

Re: image/banner and link in menu

Post by Till » Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:50 am

Oh, I forgot about it. Why is it not on the wiki. No wonder that nobody knows it.

Till

Post Reply