FCKeditor and /images

Questions about how to use the online - editors and suggestions how to improve them
wosee
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:26 pm

FCKeditor and /images

Post by wosee » Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:41 pm

Why doesn't FCKeditor take pictores from the /images directory? If I liked to use it in the future, I would have to renew all images...

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Holger » Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:45 pm

Maybe you have a index.htm in your images-folder.
It's not allowed to have other files than images in this directory.

But wait a few days. I've just finished a updated version of Connie's FCKeditor-Special-Edition.
We start the public beta-test maybe after the weekend.

Holger

Connie
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Connie » Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:43 pm

wosee,

as Holger wrote wait a few days, the super - version will be out soon 8-)

But in our CMSimple-Editions of the FCKeditor, images always where configured to be stored in the images-folder
if you decide to use the Editor, all existing images will be at hand for you!
|---
Connie Müller-Gödecke, http://www.webdeerns.de

wosee
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:26 pm

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by wosee » Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:43 pm

That's strange because my images are not even displayed in the editor while they work fine at the normal view and there is no picture when i click "search server" in the insert image dialouge.
There used to be an empty index.html in the images folder but i deleted it. The problem still exists.

Connie
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Connie » Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:34 am

Did you read the manual, which comes with our CMSimple Edition?
you can download it separately at http://www.webdeerns.de

please read it and check the configurations
|---
Connie Müller-Gödecke, http://www.webdeerns.de

wosee
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:26 pm

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by wosee » Sat Jun 28, 2008 7:53 am

Uah... partly. ;) I changed the configuration because CMSimple isn't installed in the root folder. (Did you know that the manual is also integrated in the download? :D)
Right now image listing works but "old" images are still not displayed when I use the editor.

The problem is that FCKeditor uses the path /cmsimple/images and CMSimple itself uses ./images. It would be a good idea to make FCKeditor find the rootpath of CMSimple and not the server's rootpath.

Connie
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Connie » Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:09 am

I know that the manual is integrated in the zip but I was not sure whether you downloaded "my" zip :lol:

Wait for the new version of CMSimple FCKEditor special edition, and if you can't wait it is always good to read the manual ;=)
|---
Connie Müller-Gödecke, http://www.webdeerns.de

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Holger » Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:12 am

wosee wrote:The problem is that FCKeditor uses the path /cmsimple/images and CMSimple itself uses ./images. It would be a good idea to make FCKeditor find the rootpath of CMSimple and not the server's rootpath.
Hi woose,

I know that problem.
Oedit creates a link like: ./images/image.jpg.
In FCKeditor it's: /subfolder/images/image.jpg
That's ok, as you can see in the frontend and in Oedit.
It's pretty the same for cmsimples index.php.

But a relative path like ./images points in FCKeditor to another folder, since the editor is installed
in another level in the folderstructure.
A path like this is relative to ./FCKeditor/editor/fckeditor.html

I have no solution for this problem at the moment.

Holger

wosee
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:26 pm

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by wosee » Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:49 am

To index.php it makes no difference, but if I liked to move CMSimple to another path there would be problems.

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FCKeditor and /images

Post by Holger » Sat Jun 28, 2008 1:05 pm

wosee wrote:To index.php it makes no difference, but if I liked to move CMSimple to another path there would be problems.
Yes, you're right.
But it seems that in this case only "search and replace" can help ;) .
And IMHO that's not a big problen.
In some cases you have the same problems when you move a local, by Oedit created, page to a subfolder
on your live-server.

As I said before, I've no other solution at the moment.

Holger

Post Reply