Charset UTF-8

Questions about how to use the online - editors and suggestions how to improve them
Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Holger » Sun Nov 09, 2008 9:20 pm

kirekire wrote:Besten Dank im voraus.
Besten Dank Dir für die Hilfe!

Holger

Connie
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Connie » Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:34 pm

Ich habe ja versprochen, mal Infos über UTF-8 zusammenzustellen, das werde ich auch tun

ich muss nur um ein wenig Verständnis bitten, heute ist der erste Tag seit Wochen, wo ich mal wieder in meinem eigenem Büro an meinem Arbeitsplatz sitzen konnte
und nicht im weiten Land bei Kunden unterwegs war

da hab ich neben der immensen Spesenabrechnung auch mal eine Statistik gemacht: seit 1. März war ich 118 Tage beruflich unterwegs, insgesamt 204 Stunden Reisezeit
außerhalb der Arbeitszeit (als ob Bahnfahren mein Privatvergnügen wäre...) und nun geniesse ich den ungeheuren Luxus, abends zu hause in der eigenen Wohnung zu sein
und mal gar nichts zu MÜSSEN.... einfach NICHTS TUN

ich hoffe Ihr versteht, ich bin einfach im Moment zu erschöpft, es wird noch ein wenig dauern

liebe Grüsse,

Connie
|---
Connie Müller-Gödecke, http://www.webdeerns.de

kirekire
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:28 pm

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by kirekire » Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:30 pm

OK, kein Problem, es eilt nicht so, geniesse die Freizeit!

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Holger » Tue Nov 18, 2008 8:00 am

kirekire wrote:Hello,
please advise:
I use newly FCK222 with CMSimple 3.2.
Charset of my page is set to UTF-8.
In the Edit mode i write čšě, save and see Ä�Å¡Ä�.
In the Normal mode I again see čšě, after logout is everything fine: I see čšě.

But to edit the text it is not pleasant to see �š�.

"FCKConfig.ProcessHTMLEntities = false ;" does not help.

Please for an advice, thanks in advance.
Ok, back to the problem ;) .
I've seen a new thread on FCKeditor forums belong to the same Problem.
http://www.fckeditor.net/forums/viewtop ... =6&t=12079

Would you please confirm a test as described there (of course you can't submit ;) ):
Disable JavaScript in your browser, which effectively disables the editor. In the textarea that is normally taken over the the editor, type your test phrase and submit. If you get the same weird characters, it's your PHP script mixing up character encodings.

When editor is disabled, go to Tools > Page Info in FF. What do you see at the top where it says Encoding?
Holger

kirekire
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:28 pm

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by kirekire » Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:53 pm

Holger,
when I disable the JS I cannot save the edited textarea, I can´t perform this test or?

Connie
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Connie » Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:53 pm

no, you cannot submit, you can only test (and that is the idea of that test:)
It is not a question of saving content, it is a test of entering special characters correctly encode

if you enter special characters, are these characters entered ok?

I disabled Javascript in my browser which is set to automatically detect the codepage of the website,
entered the following text

'ÜÖÄ Üsküdara tütünlügü fabrikasi'

and that text was entered in the textarea correctly,

check it here with slightly different text:
[ external image ]

if you see exactly what you typed, your server configuration is ok
if the typed text in the textarea is not similar to your typed text, the server configuration is not ok
|---
Connie Müller-Gödecke, http://www.webdeerns.de

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Holger » Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:25 pm

kirekire wrote:Holger,
when I disable the JS I cannot save the edited textarea, I can´t perform this test or?
@kirekire:
Of course you can't, as I wrote above ;) .
I only want to be sure that your server / browser settings are ok.
So your content file should be ok too, as you see the correct characters in view mode.

I think I've found the bug.
[Edit] I've provided a patch by PM. [/Edit]
Hope you find the time for testing...

WBR

Holger

kirekire
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 8:28 pm

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by kirekire » Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:15 pm

Connie, Holger,
I was sure the server settings are OK, because with in-built editor or the other JS editor, everything was OK.
The patch provided by Holger is the goal. Great thanks, everything is fine and functions perfectly.
Thanks a lot for your help and time and good work.

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Charset UTF-8

Post by Holger » Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:58 pm

kirekire wrote:Connie, Holger,
I was sure the server settings are OK, because with in-built editor or the other JS editor, everything was OK.
The patch provided by Holger is the goal. Great thanks, everything is fine and functions perfectly.
Thanks a lot for your help and time and good work.
Hey, thanks a lot for spending your time on testing our crapy code.
I can't believe that we've provided a package with such a nasty bug inside. :oops: :oops: :oops:
I'll inform Connie to update the download with my fix.
Anyway, work is in progress and the next version with the latest FCKeditor-core, a rewritten SiteLink-Plugin, changed flash-integration and an advanced file-manager is already in my CVS ;) .
Hope to get you for testing purposes.

WBR
Holger

Edit: Bugfix & Update is available: http://www.cmsimpleforum.com/viewtopic. ... 2200#p2200

Post Reply