Coco_XH

Third Party Plugins to CMSimple - how to install, use and create plugins

Moderator: Tata

cmb
Posts: 14225
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:04 am
Location: Bingen, RLP, DE
Contact:

Coco_XH

Post by cmb » Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:10 pm

Hello community,

<ADD>
I've changed the name of the plugin. Sorry for the bad choice -- I didn't intend any offense.

I left the following discussion untouched (besides removing the link to the download page) purely for "historical" reasons.
</ADD>


I've just released Coontent_XH 1alpha1. You can download it from my website.

Coontent_XH facilitates to have an arbitrary amount of additional contents on your website. These are similar to newsboxes, but instead have different content for every page. Coontent_XH is comparable to the Also plugin, but allows editing with the chosen editor instead of a textarea (CMSimple_XH ≥ 1.5 only).

It requires an UTF-8 encoded CMSimple_XH installation. It is released under GPLv3.

Coontent_XH is in an early state of development, so many things might change. Furthermore it couldn't be tested so far in various environments. It is a so called ALPHA version. Use with utmost caution!

Any feedback is welcome.

Christoph
Last edited by cmb on Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Christoph M. Becker – Plugins for CMSimple_XH

svasti
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:08 pm

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by svasti » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:50 am

Hi Christoph,

thanx again for these phantastic additions.
-- one suggestion:
If you could put some demo or some images of how your plugins look when activated --- may be just some screen shots to show what they can do...
I mean, just to help those of us who think more visually. Reading a description often means translating it in one's imagination into images. Screen shots or a demo would facilitate this.
If you have a good product, it's a nice service to describe it in such a way that people easily understand how it could serve them.

svasti

snafu
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by snafu » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:54 am

Any feedback is welcome.
don´t work on my system

Code: Select all

.....
<head>
<?php echo coontent_enable();?>
<?php echo head();?>
</head>
.....
.....

<li><?php echo mailformlink();?></li>
</ul>
<?php echo coontent('my_content');>
<div style="clear: both;">&nbsp;</div>
no go, whole site not accessible, only a blank, white page
lg.
winni

Durch einen Sucher betrachtet wird alles zu einem Motiv.
meine Galerie; mein Blog, mein CMSimple Template Tutorial

Gert
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by Gert » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:14 am

snafu wrote:no go, whole site not accessible, only a blank, white page
It's a mistake in the help file, the question mark for closing php tag "?>" is missing:

Code: Select all

<?php echo coontent('my_content');>

// have to be:

<?php echo coontent('my_content'); ?>

// the same mistake here:

<?php echo coontent('small_content', 'sidebar');>

// have to be:

<?php echo coontent('small_content', 'sidebar'); ?>

Gert

@ Christoph: Seems, before high noon I'm faster ;)

(Exception: shortly after midnight :lol: )
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Gert
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by Gert » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:28 am

Hello Christoph,

the Save Button below the Coontent and the associated save request is confusing.

Anyone could think the save button works for both editors, but it stores only the Coontent. The save request is also triggered if you just change something in the normal CMSimple content, but that will not be stored.

Maybe the Save button should be visible only if the normal textarea of Coontent appears (with no editor, like with activated TinyMCE at the moment)

Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Gert
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by Gert » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:46 am

Hello Christoph,

if there is no editor for Coontent (activated TinyMCE), following happens in the sourcecode:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
/* <![CDATA[ */

       <script type="text/javascript">
       /* <![CDATA[ */
            new tinymce.Editor("coontent_textcontent02", { }).render();
    /* ]]> */
       </script>
       
/* ]]> */
</script>
... and the last /* ]]> */ is visible below the Save Button, because there are nested "CDATA",

Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

snafu
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by snafu » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:27 am

It's a mistake in the help file, the question mark for closing php tag "?>" is missing:
you know: for normal stupid enduser (like me), copy paste from helpfile MUST work :mrgreen:
and now it works ;-}

great!
lg.
winni

Durch einen Sucher betrachtet wird alles zu einem Motiv.
meine Galerie; mein Blog, mein CMSimple Template Tutorial

cmb
Posts: 14225
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:04 am
Location: Bingen, RLP, DE
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by cmb » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:45 am

Hi Frank, Winni, Gert,

thanks for your testing and the feedback.
svasti wrote:If you could put some demo or some images of how your plugins look when activated --- may be just some screen shots to show what they can do...
Yes, of course that's a good idea. I've done it for Pagemanager_XH, but somehow forgot it for the other plugins. I'll catch up on that, where it makes sense (probably not for Sitemapper_XH).
Gert wrote:It's a mistake in the help file, the question mark for closing php tag "?>" is missing:
:oops:
Gert wrote:the Save Button below the Coontent and the associated save request is confusing.
Yes, I know. It was a compromise to have it usable somehow with the tinymce 1.0 (shipped with XH 1.5.1). As tinymce 1.0 doesn't work, I've kept the Save-Button. I'll publish a new version after XH 1.5.2 is released, which will show the Save button only when there's no editor.
Gert wrote:if there is no editor for Coontent (activated TinyMCE), following happens in the sourcecode:
That's the basic problem, why tinymce 1.0 doesn't work with Coontent_XH (Codeeditor_XH doens't work either). It was decided that the editor's should not return the <script> tags when called through editor_replace(). This issue will be resolved with tinymce 1.1 (XH 1.5.2).

Christoph
Christoph M. Becker – Plugins for CMSimple_XH

Gert
Posts: 3078
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by Gert » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:36 am

Hi Christoph,

I have 2 Coontents in the template.htm of my test installation:

Code: Select all

<?php echo coontent('sidebar', 'sidebar'); // in the sidebar ?>
...
<?php echo coontent('content02'); // below CMSimple content ?>
If I change and save the one, also the other is changed :o (used Save Button of the Coontent editors)

Another hint: the textarea should be set to 100% width (for TinyMCE):

Code: Select all

'<textarea id="'.$id.'" name="coontent_text" style="width: 100%;">'.content_fetch_complete($name, $s).'</textarea>'."\n" 
Good night,

Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

cmb
Posts: 14225
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:04 am
Location: Bingen, RLP, DE
Contact:

Re: Coontent_XH

Post by cmb » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:25 am

Hi Gert,
Gert wrote:If I change and save the one, also the other is changed
Big bug! :oops: Indeed all coontent textareas will have a different ids (depending on the name), but the same name! I'll fix it ASAP, and probably release the next version today or tomorrow.
Gert wrote:Another hint: the textarea should be set to 100% width (for TinyMCE):
That's probably a good idea, and shouldn't hurt for other editors.

Christoph
Christoph M. Becker – Plugins for CMSimple_XH

Post Reply