Position of plugin output on a page

Third Party Plugins to CMSimple - how to install, use and create plugins

Moderator: Tata

Post Reply
gigabass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:26 am

Position of plugin output on a page

Post by gigabass » Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:07 am

hi all,
as a cmsimple newbie i have a little problem with the output of plugings on a page.
i currently only have a test-implementation of cmsimple (current version 3.2) running at http://gigabass.de/cms

on the welcome page i played around a bit with the sblog plugin (i also tried others).

page source looks like this :

Code: Select all

simple test of the sblog plugin :

#CMSimple $output.=sblog('Myfile');#

some additional text under the blogs
however, ths sblog output appears below the line 'some additional text under the blogs'.
is that intended behaviour, just the way it is ?
is there something wrong with the code ? didn't find an answer to this yet

thanks for help
guido

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by Holger » Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:22 am

Hi Guido,

try this syntax:

Code: Select all

#CMSimple $output=preg_replace("/".chr(35)."CMSimple.*".chr(35)."/",sblog('Myfile'),$c[$s]);#
to get additional content after the plugin-output.

Holger

gigabass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:26 am

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by gigabass » Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:38 am

hi holger,

thanks, that works. but have to dig a bit into the php manual to find out why ;-)
will try out with other plugins as well.

but general question :
what's the intended behaviour of cmsimple to do with plugin-output ?
is the suggested way the 'official' way of doing or just 'one way that works'. would be nice to know / have more general knowledge as i can't find official references of how to use / write plugins except how to install and how to include (the way i originally did).

thanks
guido

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by Holger » Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:07 pm

gigabass wrote:but general question :
what's the intended behaviour of cmsimple to do with plugin-output ?
is the suggested way the 'official' way of doing or just 'one way that works'. would be nice to know / have more general knowledge as i can't find official references of how to use / write plugins except how to install and how to include (the way i originally did).
That's a good question, I could write an essay on that ;) ...

Do a search on http://www.cmsimple.com with the keyword "plugin".
There're two hits - and you'll come to the conclusion that there is no official way to write or include plugins.
There's no official pluginloader no nothing.
Plugins are - at the moment and maybe for ever - not supported by the developer.
Peter takes care about the CMSimple core. And, until now, the Plugin Developers are writing scripts without
design rules ... That's my point of view.

Anyway, there was a good tutorial with an example-plugin, written by djot (a member from the good old CMSimple days).
Maybe I can find it on my local harddisk to put it on the wiki...

Holger

gigabass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:26 am

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by gigabass » Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:36 pm

sad, no 'official' docs. thats why i couldn't find any ...
There is one here at : [url]http://cmsimple_addon.famnissen.dk/?Write_your_own[/url], maybe that's the one. i found that yesterday. i had similar thoughts when i had a short look at the code of the simple ip plugin.
anyway, i can't complain as all is totally free, and as long as it works and there is a way it's fine for me.
thanks
guido

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by Holger » Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:06 pm

gigabass wrote:There is one here at : http://cmsimple_addon.famnissen.dk/?Write_your_own, maybe that's the one.
Yes, that's another one. Djot's tutorial and the example plugin was more detailed.
gigabass wrote:i can't complain as all is totally free, and as long as it works
For sure. But I would like to see a 'official plugin development documentation' written by members
of the community. Things could be so much easier...

Holger

Tata
Posts: 3587
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by Tata » Thu Aug 14, 2008 4:37 pm

Ihave found some djot's examples and a tutorial on my HDD. They are uploaded here:
example_plugin_v1.0.zip
example_plugin_v3.0beta1.zip
tutorial_example_plugin.zip
I hope djot won't be angry.
CMSimple.sk
It's no shame to ask for an answer if all efforts failed.
But it's awful to ask without any effort to find the answer yourself.

gigabass
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:26 am

Re: Position of plugin output on a page

Post by gigabass » Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:28 pm

Holger wrote:But I would like to see a 'official plugin development documentation' written by members
of the community. Things could be so much easier...
+1

Post Reply